My breakfast was amazing, was yours?

Guys. That picture. That was breakfast (I only made the toast and the coffee, OK?)

Let me break it down for you:

  • three cheese semolina bread with truffle butter
  • a yellow nectarine (they have white but I like the yellow kind)
  • applewood smoked bacon
  • Gordon Ramsay style eggs
  • coffee and juice was there too

You can get all these things at your local grocery story, except maybe the truffle butter and the creme fraiche, I doubt Food Lion carries those two- and before you call me a snob, Alex put it in the cart! We got the nectarines at Costco though, super yummy, and if you think there’s a bite missing out of one of the halves then you are correct…that was Alex too.

Now you’re probably wondering what Gordon Ramsay style eggs are, they’re like super special scrambled eggs. I was first introduced to them in our community kitchen in the dorms during my freshman year of college; my friend who lived down the hall, her boyfriend stayed over and the next morning I get this knock on the door and they’re like “hey, breakfast is ready,” and BOOM my obsession was born (there was some lag time, but I never forgot how tasty that stuff was and I don’t think the guy used creme fraiche, but they were still really good).

In short:

  • crack some eggs into a small pot, yes pot, no not a pan
  • you stir the eggs in the pot, taking them on and off the heat repeatedly
  • they’re super yummy with creme fraiche (you can make your own here if you can’t find the stuff in stores) and chives
  • watch the video (several times) because Gordon totally explains it better than I do

Hope I inspired you guys to a better breakfast! Let me know if you try the eggs and tell me  what you think!!

Leave a comment