No, no more gnocchi….for now

on

You guessed it! I made….a gnocchi recipe. If I had the kind of time [dedication] to make gnocchi from scratch, I would (I still have some PTSD from pasta making), but I didn’t. I bought it.

I like stuff with gnocchi in it….yummy, savory stuff, and I really felt like I could trust recipes from the Food Network. FALSE. NO, NO AND DEFINITELY NOT. NO MORE FOOD NETWORK (at least for a little while).

The recipe is called “Cheese Gnocchi Casserole with Ham and Peas.” (I added mushrooms.)

Sounds reasonably good right? Nope, head straight for the white Velveeta cheese. 

1 pckg gnocchi + 1 pckg frozen peas + 1 deli ham, diced + Velveeta cheese

The above equation sounds infinitely better than what I ate. THAT RECIPE WAS SO BLAND.

I couldn’t even eat the portion I picked out for myself…but don’t worry that was the only portion that went to waste because Alex ate all of it, despite it being really bland. Then again, he eats almost anything. I mean, it wasn’t inedible it was just…..gross, like not even salt could fix that.

Alex hadn’t had gnocchi before I made this recipe, and the first time I asked him (the day he ate it) he gave me an answer like “I don’t think I like gnocchi.” Then a day or so later I asked again and he said, “It was alright.”

Translation: I can make gnocchi again.

Conclusion: GOODBYE FOOD NETWORK.

Leave a comment