Banana Bonanza!

Current breakfast favorite: Banana Nut Muffins

Alex tested and approved!

I am an avid breakfast eater. Breakfast is 100% required to start the day off with and while I do not particularly enjoy bananas by themselves, I do really enjoy banana nut bread and banana nut muffins. My grandma will probably be offended that I didn’t reach out to her first for this recipe but here’s how it goes:

2 cups All-Purpose flour

1 1/2 teaspoon baking soda

3-4 overripe bananas (3 big or 4 normal sized, with ugly brown spots)

~1/4 tsp cinnamon (feel free to add more if you would like more)

1 cup brown sugar

3/4 cup melted butter, cooled

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

~ 1/2 cup chopped pecans

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees (F) and butter or grease your muffin pans. I made this recipe on two different occasions, using a regular 12 count cupcake pan the second time and a 6 count jumbo muffin pan the second time. In my opinion they were better in the 6 count pan because you only needed to eat one instead of two.

In a large bowl, combine flour, baking soda and salt.

In a separate, smaller than the flour bowl, combine the bananas and sugar. The original recipe calls for “mash two by hand” for texture (?), but personal preference leads me to just mash all four by hand with a fork (plus there’s less clean up).

Add melted butter, vanilla and eggs to the flour mixture and proceed to stir in the bananas and sugar mixture, finally adding the pecans last. I buy pre-chopped pecan pieces and stir in at will – the measurement above is for all the control freaks out there that need it.

Spoon the batter into whichever type of pan you prefer, filling about halfway full. For aesthetic purposes (and because I like extra nuts), sprinkle a few pecans on top of the batter in the pans.

The muffins cook about 18-20 minutes in the 12-count pans or about 23-25 minutes in the jumbo pans.

Fun Facts: cupcake liners are optional, if you choose to use them because they’re pretty then I would opt for two-per-cup so you can see the design. Additionally, you can add a pinch of nutmeg (I do) for some extra flavors – totally depends on how brave you’re feeling.

Original recipe for reference / my ‘inspo’: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/tyler-florence/banana-nut-muffins-recipe.html

Leave a comment